Some Grandmother Kind Of Advice

Hi people. I feel the the kind of awkward feeling you get when you suddenly lose contact with a very good friend and now you’re finally meeting them and you don’t know how to start a conversation.

The reason I’ve been away from blogging isn’t important (read: I don’t have any reasonable explanation, except that – I’ve been procrastinating to respond on the award nominations, and that led me to not posting even a normal post. Like I said, not important.) – but why I’m here today is.

I’m here to warn you, people.
Don’t ever, ever, ever depend on someone or count on someone completely. People don’t come through, you think they will, but many times they won’t. And that’ll hurt you.

Heard of the phrase “Never put all your eggs in one basket”?
Yes, that’s what I’m trying to say here. Never have one ‘best’ friend, because when they fail you, or when you fail them – you’re left with absolutely nothing. Your journey that started with so many happy, cuddly, warm feelings comes to a screeching halt and you’re pushed away and told to start your own journey – alone. And that hurts like hell.

Hmm, guess that’s it. Please don’t ask me what all this is about. It’s hard to explain. But I promise you I’m not finding it hard to deal with. I’ve accepted some facts. And with acceptance comes a lot of maturity; with maturity comes a lot of acceptance.

Okay I’ll shut up now. I’ll respond to all your nominations very very soon, I’m SO sorry for the delay.

This is something I've sketched when I was feeling kinda down. My camera is like 2 MP, and I used only one pencil for this, so there's no depth in the sketch - all in all its not that 'post worthy'. But for once I wanted to put up something of my own rather than stealing pictures from our dear old friend Google.
image

28 Comments Add yours

  1. The V-Pub says:

    I’m sorry to hear about this. Yes, it hurts when the one friend that you count on, lets you down. I think that there will be many acquaintances in life, but only a very few true friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Its not just that, I have let her down, too. So whatever – it’s kind of boring and twisted.

      And yes, you’re right. But what if there is no concept of ‘true friend’ in reality? Maybe every one you meet is temporary in your life.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The V-Pub says:

        I wouldn’t say that. True friends do exist. We just have to be able to recognize them as such. I hope that you and your friend can patch up your relationship and bring it to a higher level.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Haha, I hope it gets better, too.

        Thanks Rob 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho says:

    That’s why I didn’t post much either.. Too many nominations..

    And I know that feeling of losing your best and “only” best friend… I find it hard to call anyone that. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Exactly. It’s better to neither call someone ‘best’ nor to feel that they are the only ones that complete your life. Even I find it hard.

      Also, I’ve not really lost a friend, there’s this distance that’s developed – and I don’t know how to bridge the gap. And we’ll still be meeting everyday, we’re in the same college. So I don’t know how things are going to work out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. miusho says:

        For me it was more of a “changed schools, no need to talk anymore, bye!” kind of thing. Which sucked. :/
        And lets hope things will be ok for you, losing friends sucks. 😮

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Yeah.. It does suck. But you can’t really help it, can you?

        Aaand, is that you in your gravatar? Yayy! I finally know how you look! I know how your feet looks a little too well. (That was your foot in your earlier gravatar, right? :P)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. miusho says:

        Haha! It’s uh.. me. But it’s a younger me. And I look different. That was just a “dress up” I did for fun. I look more girly. 😛
        And yeah, those were my feet. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. shubhada says:

        Hahahah, you look really cool in the pic! Like really cool and stylish. 😀

        Haha, thank god my guess was right about that, it would have gotten really awkward if it wasn’t. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      5. miusho says:

        Haha! xD I look manly. Seriously. But I like the picture so it’s good. People still don’t know what I really properly look like. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      6. shubhada says:

        Hahaha, yeahhh, mystery always does good to your profile. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      7. miusho says:

        Just keep them guessing! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      8. shubhada says:

        Hahah yeah. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back,S! It’s a very good piece of art! Some time back you wanted to see my painting so I uploaded one titled ‘Grief ‘ … Check it out when you have time.
    -S

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Oh, that’s great! I’ll check it out right now! 🙂

      And thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do tell your comments! And welcome,S!
        -S

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Of course I will! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. TEARA90 says:

    I guess everyone comes across such a phase with friendships!! But the sense comes eventually to not ‘put all eggs in one basket’! However, the human nature somehow isn’t practical enough to follow this sense. On the other hand, sometimes it may happen that you find someone who is there forever!! So i guess it all depends on luck and one can just go with the flow with friendships and relationships!! Anyway would also like to mention that the posts on this channel are really enjoyable!! Cheers shubhada 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Hahaha, thanks for your generous compliments. 😀
      What should I call you? Is your real name Teara? 😛

      And yeah the only thing you can do is go with the flow. Being too cautious is also not good. :/

      Like

  5. markbialczak says:

    Your drawing is fabulous, Shooby Doo. And please don’t let one bad happenstance ruin a good friendship. Life is too long, and you’ll both need each other again, believe me. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Hi P-Mark! I’ve missed you! I’m sorry that I haven’t been able to read your posts lately – you know, I’ve been away from blogging for a while.

      And thanks! This isn’t my best drawing, though. 😛

      And today I went for a movie with the same friend. And it was cool. Not completely cool, but kinda cool. And I don’t know whether we’ll really need eachother, but right now we’re friends. And that’s good enough for me. For now. 🙂

      How’re you doing, PM?!

      Like

      1. markbialczak says:

        Good to have you back here, Shooby Doo. ❤

        Summer is a busy time, and I am writing a lot of things for a lot of places! That's a great thing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Yeah? That’s great! I did check your posts out. I must say, you have a pretty happening life, PM! 😀

        Like

      3. markbialczak says:

        Thanks, Shooby Doo. Please have a great weekend coming up over there, OK?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. shubhada says:

        Oh, yes, I will! 😉 I already have Saturday night out planned with friends.

        Like

  6. Tony Burgess says:

    In the 21st Century friendships and relationships are so fluid. Your childhood friends go on to do their own things and you find that it’s OK to make new friends. People change and so to the connections they make. I agree with you, don’t have just ONE best friend, heck have several who are special to you in different ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Yeah, you’re right!

      Like

Leave a Reply

