Ten Things Being A Girl Taught Me

Good evening, people! Today I’m going to talk about ten things being a girl taught me. It’s quite a cynical post, so don’t tell me I didn’t warn you beforehand.

1. People will always expect me to be adjust – afterall, that’s what I’ll have to do all my life, right? ‘Adjust’? With my inlaws, my husband, his family – etc, etc.

2. I’ll never get to wear shorts or anything much revealing because “What if people stare?”.

3. I will be looked down upon if I’m too thin or fat. Who even gives a shit about the mind when there are more pressing issues like a ‘hot bod’?

4. I will always be accompanied by my ‘male protector’ after the sun sets. Because “It’s too dangerous to go out alone at night”.

5. If I don’t do some of the household work so as to make time for my office work, I’ll be called selfish. If a man does the same thing, he’s a poor hardworking bloke.

6. I’ll be forced to choose a career that isn’t very demanding so that I make time for my husband and kids. But males will be allowed to take up ANY kind of job – Hey! THEY are the main bread earners.

7. I will always have to tolerate the awkward stares when I go to buy sanitary napkins during menstruation. So many have told this, but it needs to be told again – This is a natural and a healthy process, kids. Every girl goes through it. Okay? Any doubts? Can we try and be normal about it?

8. I will be told what kind of clothes I should wear – if I don’t listen, I’ll be shunned from the community.

9. I’ll be groped, be subjected to lewd comments and suggestive sneers. And I’ll have to learn to live with it. Because “Men will be men.”

10. I’ll be asked a million questions if I talk to a guy. “Who’s he? Why didn’t you tell us you met him? Where does he live? What does he do?”
Oh God. I’m not thinking of marrying him Mom, Dad. So give it a rest, okay?

Girls, do you want to add anything to this list? And guys, I want to know what being a guy has taught you!

32 Comments Add yours

  1. miusho says:

    Oh. Girls can’t flirt because they’ll be labeled a slut but a guy can sleep with an entire army of girls and he’ll be called a stud.

    You can rephrase this as you wish. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 3 people

    1. shubhada says:

      Yeah! Of course, how could I forget that! There’s no need to rephrase it! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. miusho says:

        Sweet! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Little Rants says:

    I wear shorts and I get away with it. The flirting thing though. Arsehats!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. shubhada says:

      I’m not allowed to wear shorts!! Even in this hot weather! :/ It’s so annoying.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Little Rants says:

        Gaaaaaaah. Bad.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Little Rants says:

    And I had to pick medicine. A career that is so demanding it leaves no time for me. Why? Here comes the adjust thing.

    Being a girl also means you’d have to be the business pawn and attract the perfect hubbykins. Even if he looks like death and treats you like meat.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. shubhada says:

      Hahaha. This really sucks. But atleast, some people are done with the dowry system. That’s atleast a step towards positivity.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Itsmine says:

    Gr8!!
    point no.1,3,5,6,7,9,..are really worthy!! no doubt,I will never support that, even I am totally against that & i hate those peoples also!!
    But point no. 4 is must..I think that is not something about the freedom,it is about to avoid bad incidence,..at least you should have group of ladies with you if the place is too far from home!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. shubhada says:

      Yeah I guess you are right. But it would be good if the conditions are bettered so that girls can roam around more freely.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Itsmine says:

        Yes!! definitely,you got the point that is conditions must be best for roaming around.But as you know that cant be happened, at least in our young days/years.
        And it is the same demand for wearing shorts Or e.t.c..e.t.c…& I am not saying that wearing short or same stuff like that, will put you in danger at every time,but it is always better to avoid that,Caz why to taste the poison..& wearing those clothes is also depended on the society/city in which you are living,you cant become odd man out there..& no problem to wear comfortable at our own house..(These are just my opinions/beliefs ,I am not teaching anything to anyone here)…

        Liked by 2 people

      2. shubhada says:

        I just think we should be able to do whatever we like to, without having to worry about the society.
        Anyway, I appreciate your opinion, too. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Itsmine says:

        Definitely,you R 101% ri8 & you have the worth demand,thats why I consider that no one has got freedom yet & we are all like slave!!

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Perfect post!
    Even I will have to act shy,obedient, docile and soft in front any guests or relatives.If I act bold, then I’m too boyish and shameless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Yes!! I don’t understand why can’t we be ourselves around the guests!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true. This is actually a typical Indian problem. You see, ‘Log kya kahenge.’ :’)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. markbialczak says:

    If I could only begin to explain how sad and angry this post makes me, Shooby Doo, for you and LR and all the beautiful women of heart and spirit of your country and culture. I know the women of America, my daughter and my wife among them, have their own lists, and some points would be similar. But some of your points are simply intolerable to me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. shubhada says:

      Haha, it’s okay Mark! Everyone “learns to live with it”.
      And I’m very fortunate that I live in a cosmopolitan city. In rural areas, women are oppressed a lot.

      Like

      1. markbialczak says:

        Your list is being oppressed a little, Shooby Doo? I don’t want to see the rural list. Ugh.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Hahahah, no you don’t!
        But it’s fine, really. There are a lot of positive things about my society, too!
        It think I’ll do a post of the positive things – to balance this out! Because everything isn’t bad, here. πŸ™‚

        Like

      3. markbialczak says:

        Please do, Shooby Do. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. 1. It will be the case if you happen to live with joint family after marriage which is very least expected. And, believe me both, girl and boy needs to make adjustment for better and happy married life, there is no other way.

    2. Being realistic, I don’t think it will be possible until next few decades when current generations will take over old ones, so no chance for that at least for now. (Personally I like girls who wear Punjabi dress or Saree, don’t know why but I found them more beautiful in these costumes)

    3. It is same for both genders anyway.

    4. I just wonder why do they (both males & females) want to wander in nights, but yeah you cannot blame this act as it is for your safety purpose. Just try to put yourself in shoes of your parents and see how many people are out there. They are in crores and with different background, mindsets and intentions. Your parents trust you but they simply can’t afford to trust people out there.

    5. Agreed upon this.

    6. I don’t see this is happening anywhere as you can see woman of this age is doing well in all sectors. If this is happening somewhere, it is limited to certain range of people, people lacking education.

    7. Agreed. More awareness is needed to be spread in this regard to make situation better.

    8. I believe one should initiate and take lead to change the practice. Set example!

    9. No, you don’t have to be. Learn to face situation and don’t let them do such things with you. Always remember, help resides at every corner and you should not feel less for asking the same if situation gets worse.

    10. Well, assured them of same and they won’t ask you again.

    Being a Guy I can only see that all women out there are feminists and as a wise man you should not go against any by posting long comments on their blogs. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Hahahaha, well, I agree with some of your points, but with some – I don’t.
      1. Girls need to adjust more, because it’s them who’ve changed their families, not the men.
      2. Girls should be free to wear whatever the hell they want to.
      3. Agreed
      4. Girls and boys both should be free to roam around wherever and whenever they want to. Rest – I agree.
      5. You agree. πŸ˜›
      6. Women are doing well in all sectors, but not ALL women. But I do agree on this point, too.
      7. You agree πŸ˜›
      8. Yes.
      9. It’s easier said than done.
      10. Haha, they will.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha, we have agreed upon quite a few eh? So only points 1,2 and 9 are remaining and I think we are close enough. Let’s change the world then! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Hahahaha, yes!

        Like

  8. Bobby says:

    Shubhada! you are right on the point.
    i totally agree with you, Nothing to debate on…
    Few things which i have learned being a guy is that (And i don’t want to sound hypocrite)
    We are egoistic, Selfish sometimes, greedy, but we do have heart and it beats the same as it does to you. Some neurological differences makes us apart. Well, different perceptions and situation can only reveal the true face, And the traits can be same for you too.. I know we are bad at times but we are good too..
    Coins have two sides and its better to see it one by one rather avoid. last what matters is Character and perception my dear friend. All love stories end over there……..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Hahah, yes. I have no problems with boys! I don’t even have a problem with the society for that matter. I just listed out a list of facts some girls go through. And I want these things to change.

      Like

      1. Bobby says:

        Yes, so do I …

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

