The Ordinary Things

Today I feel happy.
So contented with myself
That the ordinary things seem extraordinary to me.

The headlights of the cars on the opposite side of the road
Make me feel as if thousands of spotlights are trained upon me.
And the brightness outside is just a reflection of the brightness inside.
Inside me. Inside my heart.

The sound of leaves rustling in the coconut tree, against the strong wind makes me feel
As if the the wind is tickling them, and they are giggling happily.
As if the leaves are looking at me indulgently, all the while chuckling merrily –
As if they are happy that I’m happy.

The glowing moon
Makes me feel that even a little light,
Even a faint brightness,

Can make the dark sky look splendid.
Just like a little happiness is enough
To glamorise the ordinary things.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent frame of mind

    Liked by 2 people

    1. shubhada says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ My frame of mind is seldom this positive. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Indeed! May God bless you and may you continue to always look at life in such a positive way! πŸ™‚ The good thing is that gratitude creates a cycle of happiness. So your appreciation for the little things in life will make you feel even happier about the world, and when you feel happier about the world, you will appreciate the little things in life even more! And the cycle will go on and on and on. Bas khushi hi khushi! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Wow, that’s such a beautiful way of putting it! πŸ™‚
      I only hope this cycle continues and happiness lasts, though. Because my happiness and sadness both, are short lived. πŸ˜›

      Like

  3. markbialczak says:

    A little light in your life sometimes can go a long way, can’t it, Shubhada?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Oh yes, it can! πŸ™‚ I hope it’s bright enough to last long. πŸ˜›

      Like

  4. Julia says:

    Beautiful:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Thank you, Julia! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Happily expressed!😜
    Hope this state of euphoria continues and give you a lot of positive energy!
    Good work!
    -S

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Thank you, Soumi! Yeah, I hope so too. I guess I’ll just enjoy it till it lasts. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome,Shubhada!
        -S

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Bobby says:

    WOW!! I am happy to see you happy.
    very well written and penned down, its been a decade to have such a feeling and believe me it feels awesome. stay blessed!! take care and i wish the happiness lasts forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Thank you so much, bobby! Yes, it’s an awesome feeling. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Bobby says:

        yeah!! A smile is always appreciated.. hahahaha!!! KEEP SMILING!!
        I din knew Mumbaikars can smile that good. :p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Lol. πŸ˜›

        Like

  7. preetixd says:

    And the brightness outside is just a reflection of the brightness inside.
    Inside me. Inside my heart- This line ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      πŸ™‚ thank you, miss toodle!! πŸ˜› πŸ’œ πŸ’œ

      Like

      1. preetixd says:

        Iss happy mood mein toh tujhe megha ma’m ki khubsurti bhi dikhegi πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      2. shubhada says:

        Hahahahah!! No, I don’t think THAT’S possible. πŸ˜›
        Speaking of which, I don’t think she’s going to teach us this time! Maternity leave. YAY!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. preetixd says:

        YAYYYYYY! πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      4. shubhada says:

        Hahahaha! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

        Like

  8. Beautiful! Simply loved it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. shubhada says:

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

